Author Topic: Airbrush, Airbrushing, and Compressor Questions  (Read 147368 times)

October 17, 2005, 06:37:55 AM
Read 147368 times

FichtenFoo

  • Michael Fichtenmayer
  • **********
  • Information
  • Member
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10422
  • Karma: 17
  • 16 bits of fun
    • View Profile
    • FichtenFoo.com
Please ask all of your airbrush and compressor questions here. This includes help with airbrushing, etc...

I swear, if I see one more new thread started about "is this a good airbrush/compressor?" I'm going to scream.  <_< Those threads will be locked.

October 18, 2005, 01:57:56 AM
Reply #1

GAINAX

  • Information
  • New Member
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.gundamhq.uk6.net
Can you recomend a compressor that isn't too pricey, but dos the job? :)
Thanks!
ichtenfoo ftw ;o

October 18, 2005, 02:50:34 PM
Reply #2

gamerabaenre

  • **
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 458
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Personally, I have an Iwata Smart Jet.  I like all the features it has.

Here's a comparison chart:
http://www.dixieart.com/Compressor_Comparison_Charts.html
Its pretty much what you want your air compressor to be, silent, oiless, + moisture trap/regulator, etc etc.  And that equates to money.  Do some on line searching for some reviews.  We can only suggest what we personally have and that may not be in your price range because I don't believe any of us here are in the business of selling air compressors.

October 19, 2005, 05:43:44 AM
Reply #3

GAINAX

  • Information
  • New Member
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.gundamhq.uk6.net
Thanks :)
Do you know if this would be any good?
I've never even seen a compressor before, sorry for the noobie question :)
http://www.modelsforsale.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=8_89999111&products_id=70305

It has a maximum pressure of 2.6 bar, produces 15 litres of air per minute and a 0.25 litre air tank.
I also have a Revell airbrush... o.O
ichtenfoo ftw ;o

October 24, 2005, 08:07:41 PM
Reply #4

prettyboy

  • Information
  • New Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Hi, I just found a good dual action airbrush set but it does not come with a compressor so I will have to buy it separately. I am wondering since the painting will be strictly on Gundam models what the PSI should be, and since I live in an apartment I cannot(to my knowledge) build a test booth, so is it safe to paint my kits outside? And since I'm only 14 year old I do not know much about airbrushing except reading Michael's "How to build a MG Gundam" around 10 times so I am still not really familiar with air brushing requirements for a MG Gundam  :cry: . Hope you guys can answer my question!

October 27, 2005, 08:09:13 PM
Reply #5

Jonkokyan

  • *
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Can you guys give me some advices on airbrush needles?
When do you guys use fine, medium or large needle?
Thank You very much :D

November 14, 2005, 06:54:12 AM
Reply #6

fear no evil

  • *
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
I recently found an excellent website all about airbrushing.

Its very informative, has  tutorials and helpful hints for nearly everyone who's thinking about airbrushing or has an airbrush.

http://www.howtoairbrush.com/Lindex.htm

November 14, 2005, 07:22:58 AM
Reply #7

Scarylion

  • *
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.scarylion.org
My airbrush seems to be spitting condensation or something will a moisture trap/filter stop this?
size=9]In one episode of The Fresh Prince of Bel Air, Chuck Norris replaced Carlton for one scene and nobody noticed.[/size]

November 14, 2005, 07:25:27 AM
Reply #8

FichtenFoo

  • Michael Fichtenmayer
  • **********
  • Information
  • Member
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10422
  • Karma: 17
  • 16 bits of fun
    • View Profile
    • FichtenFoo.com
Quote from: "Scarylion"
My airbrush seems to be spitting condensation or something will a moisture trap/filter stop this?


A moisture trap will fix that. You're basically getting condensation in your air hose. You can get a cheap in-line moisture trap to fix that. Search for moisture trap here for a thread about it.

November 14, 2005, 07:26:59 AM
Reply #9

fear no evil

  • *
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile

November 14, 2005, 07:28:44 AM
Reply #10

Scarylion

  • *
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.scarylion.org
Quote from: "FichtenFoo"

A moisture trap will fix that. You're basically getting condensation in your air hose. You can get a cheap in-line moisture trap to fix that. Search for moisture trap here for a thread about it.


Excellent, ta :)
size=9]In one episode of The Fresh Prince of Bel Air, Chuck Norris replaced Carlton for one scene and nobody noticed.[/size]

November 22, 2005, 03:02:46 PM
Reply #11

dc2099

  • Information
  • New Member
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Hi,
I've just started  modelling and have a few airbrush questions.
Now I have a cheap Testors air brush from wal-mart and I'm using Aerosol(sp?) cans,but
when I have the money I plan on getting a decent airbrush.
Which compressor would you reccomend,preferably around $100 but I'll go up to $150?
And which air brush around $60-80?
Also, I need a regulator and a moisture trap right,is there anything else?
I did do a search on"airbrush" but I wanted answers a little more specific to my scenario.
Thanks.
By the way great site, Your guys' models are amazing!

November 22, 2005, 03:16:13 PM
Reply #12

Mrex-sgundam

  • OPE
  • ***
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 621
  • Karma: 0
  • Wow, time flies.
    • View Profile
Here you go I hope this helps

Airbrush
http://www.dixieart.com/Paasche_V_VJR_VSR90.html

compressor
http://www.dixieart.com/Paasche_Compressors.html

There all in your price range and are good for modeling from what I hear :)
Hey, how's it going?

November 22, 2005, 09:55:24 PM
Reply #13

Jonkokyan

  • *
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Which airbrush is better, Iwata HP-CH or Gunze Spray Gun Set Pro-Spray Procon Boy WA Platinum?
Iwata HP-CH: http://jonkokyan.tripod.com/pictures/iwatahpch.html
Gunze Spray Gun Set Pro-Spray Procon Boy WA Platinum: http://jonkokyan.tripod.com/pictures/gunzewa.html
Thank you for your suggestion.

November 23, 2005, 08:11:46 AM
Reply #14

dc2099

  • Information
  • New Member
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Quote from: "Mrex-sgundam"
Here you go I hope this helps

Airbrush
http://www.dixieart.com/Paasche_V_VJR_VSR90.html

compressor
http://www.dixieart.com/Paasche_Compressors.html

There all in your price range and are good for modeling from what I hear :)

Thanks alot!
I also saw the Iwata Eclipse HP-BCS,would you reccomend that or the Paasche VSR-90?
And then I just need a moisture trap and regulator,right?(And and a hose if I get the Eclipse.)
EDIT: One more question Will the Iwata compressors work with Paasche airbrushes and vice versa

November 23, 2005, 08:33:10 AM
Reply #15

Mrex-sgundam

  • OPE
  • ***
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 621
  • Karma: 0
  • Wow, time flies.
    • View Profile
Yea since your starting out I would say the passche VSR-90 its cheaper and comes with more than the Iwata your looking at.

Yep, you should have a regulator and moisture trap
Hey, how's it going?

November 23, 2005, 08:47:55 AM
Reply #16

dc2099

  • Information
  • New Member
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
OK Thanks you have been very helpful.

November 23, 2005, 08:54:19 AM
Reply #17

Mrex-sgundam

  • OPE
  • ***
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 621
  • Karma: 0
  • Wow, time flies.
    • View Profile
Hey, how's it going?

November 23, 2005, 09:21:30 AM
Reply #18

jubjub64

  • *
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 123
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
I own a Iwata HP-BCS and I really like it.  I also have a Badger 100LG whigh is a gravity feed.  Both do a very good job.  But when I am painting models I find the gravity feed is better.  Why? Because it requires less air pressure to spray properly.  Syphon feed brushes like the HP-BCS need a little more air pressure to pull the paint up the tube and into the brush.  But if you will use the brush for more than models (t-shirts and other lagrer canvas) I would stick to a good syphon feed airbrush like the HP-BCS.
My other car is a 90-foot robot.

November 28, 2005, 12:24:44 AM
Reply #19

Peter Hon

  • *
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.peterhon.com
This is my first post, so I figured I'll ask a question:  

Has anyone used the Tamiya Spray Work Basic Compressor w/ Airbrush?  

http://www.tamiyausa.com/product/item.php?product-id=74520

For my needs and budget, it seems to be a reasonable price, and I can upgrade to a better brush using the same compressor.  What I want to know is:

1)  Is the basic airbrush any good?  Never used an airbrush, and I think I will mainly be using it for paint/FFA applications (no shadowing).

2)  How does the compressor stack up (or how well does it perform, just to be clear)?  


Any opinions are appreciated.  Thanks again!