Author Topic: to cut the pegs or just do hardcore masking?  (Read 3251 times)

aibuster

• New Poster
    • View Profile
to cut the pegs or just do hardcore masking?
« on: September 15, 2005, 11:20:07 AM »
hello. this is my first time posting a thread here and i just joined a few days ago. after reading fichtenfoo's tutorials on building and irbrushing model kits i got interested so im testing it on a 1/144 HG Strike Rouge + I.W.S.P. and encountered my first problem on the body part.

i am trying to recolor the strike exactly like the original one posted on the back of the model kit manual

now the problem is. from the 1st image, it was the body part. should i cut the pegs from the right part like how ppl slide in heads of gundams/gms or should i just put em up together and make some tough masking using any means possible? cause im not sure which one is better... thanks!

FichtenFoo

• Model On!
  • Administrator
  • 16 bits of fun
    • View Profile
    • http://www.fichtenfoo.com
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2005, 11:38:37 AM »
I'd cut the pegs and see if you can slide it in. No sense masking if you don't have to.
Rust is beautiful.

Cray

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2005, 04:44:28 PM »
I 2nd that. I try to cut the pegs rather than mask whenever I can.

And if you're afraid the lower torso slips out whenever you lift the model to transport it, which invariably it will as there's nothing holding it in place now, use white glue to fasten it in place. It dries clear and doesn't damage paint.

Skillful Abbot

• View Profile
    • Facebook Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2005, 07:50:25 PM »
I'm no expert, but I wouldnt cut the pegs. I would cut the female sections the pegs slide into. Basically a C-Groove (NOT capcom vs snk) into it that the lower peice can then 'snap' in.