Author Topic: Scratch Building Questions and Tutorials  (Read 16915 times)

FichtenFoo

• Model On!
  • Administrator
  • 16 bits of fun
    • View Profile
    • http://www.fichtenfoo.com
Scratch Building Questions and Tutorials
« on: February 04, 2007, 09:47:28 AM »
I received the following question today:

hi.. im new in mecha modeling and and it is because of your works i started collecting and painting them. i love your work.. I would really appreciate it if you can help me in scratch building.. i dont know anything about scratch building, i am just wondering if you have a guide or tips in scratch building using styrene... i dont know how to work with them like what you normally do with your mechas, for instance bending or making round or curved part.. how do you make a curved shape out of a styrene.. and what are the things that i will need to

It got me to thinking that there's a lot of different ways to do all this and that perhaps this deserves a sticky. So help the man out, post some tips, and lets make another great sticky!
Rust is beautiful.

Ezechiel

• FFF Staff
  • Le Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2007, 10:27:20 AM »
(>:3) JESUS CHRIST IT'S A LION GET IN THE CAR!

Krausser

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2007, 01:28:32 PM »
regarding the bending it was mentioned that heating the plasticard would help bending it, but isnt it going to make the plasticard brittle ? or worst case  scenario melt it?
is the brown thing called "epowood" the same as putty?

and what do use to glue plasticards?
superglue? whiteglue? or should i use a specific type of glue?

thanks.. this will be a great help!

mtomczek

• paid by the force
    • View Profile
    • http://www.mtomczek.com
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2007, 03:05:27 PM »
Quote from: "Krausser"
regarding the bending it was mentioned that heating the plasticard would help bending it, but isnt it going to make the plasticard brittle ? or worst case  scenario melt it?